top of page
  • Living London

Michele Maria Serrapica

the crisis will cover what the hard gives you Although I struggled to find a theme for, the moment I did I realised how much gentrification the footage I shot and the words I noted were screaming. As soon as I started to research, I found a paper analysing "aesthetic of gentrification" all over the world using the Greenwich Peninsula as blueprint for the whole study. The conversation around aesthetics, then, brought my attention to the numerous works of artists met during the walk. Either commissioned or bought to add valuable beauty to the reshaped area. And so I turned them into a poem. The words used to sell them are now reused to tell a renegade story. That story is then channelled through a voice released by those same artworks, here dismantled and corrupted, dissolved and merged. Longplayer, a thousand year old composition started on 31st December 1999, serves as background music. Witness of what it was and what it will become. Like the other works, its soul has been altered to better fir the narrating voice. The title is an homage to a very peculiar storyteller I was lucky enough to meet on the way.



Michele Maria Serrapica


bottom of page